Welcome to Sammich

We’re a lunch spot serving Sammiches (sandwiches), fresh baked goods made daily, soups from scratch, fair-trade organic Salt Spring Coffee, and freshly squeezed lemonade among other things.

We opened March 15, 2013, and this being the first cafe I’ve owned, I was terrified. I didn’t really expect that the day would ever actually come that everything would actually happen as it could, and I would have my own cafe. It’s not to say I wasn’t prepared, at least to some capacity, but it’s another story to invent yourself a job, and then try to perform it in front of people.

I just started piling samples on top of each other, and hiding them behind a picture.

I just started piling samples on top of each other, and hiding them behind a picture.

So now the cafe has been open for over 7 months, feedback on the food is very good, and now I’ve got a few goals on the horizon, namely expansion of my soup selection for lunch, including a meat soup variety, also made from scratch, so I’m looking for some good bones, and beautification of my shop.

I finally picked a colour I think, the pinkish one, its kinda more beige looking, really a very progressive and edgy colour…. I think this is the hardest decision I’ve made about the cafe so far.

I’m also ready to hang another menu board I’ve built out of spruce and painted with blackboard paint, and lastly, I’m staining a pallet I’m turning into a shelf and have every intention of hanging on my wall as well somehow, cause it definitely weighs a lot, and that will make it tricky.

Leave a Reply

