What a busy fall….

I can hardly recall whats occured between now and summer, and its almost winter. But seriously, last thing I remember was heaps of tourists, then we had a couple quiet weeks in October, and now its a few weeks till Christmas… In the meanwhile I’ve been catering, mostly for local offices, including a beautiful cheese and charcuterie spread I did on a piece of live edge cedar, and then promptly forgot to take pictures, gah. In other news the new counter made of the other piece of live edge cedar I picked up in the Cowichan Valley is almost ready to be my new counter, I’ve been putting a coat of tung oil on it everyday when I get home from work, should be done between 15 and 20 coats, and we’re at 7 or 8 now.

I’ve also got a new logo…

Made by Better Business Products.

New Sammich logo, made by Better Business Products.

 

It started with me scribbling on a piece of paper, and it looks more or less the same, just not in pencil anymore.

Built it out of spruce and painted it with chalk paint.

Built it out of spruce and painted it with chalk paint.

I also finally hung my new chalk board, a vast improvement, and I’ve been scribbling on it for the past 2 weeks, but I think it’s nearly done.

This board had me googling chalk art techniques, and trying to figure out what kind of chalk serious artists used, and watching videos, its all pretty amazing work they do. When all was said and done though, I opted not to buy $50 chalk, and got myself a pack of crayola….

Now I think its about time to tackle my older menu board, now that I know what I can do. I’m also hoping to paint soon, and I’ve got some tile accenting and backsplash I’m thinking about, but hopefully, sometime near Christmas, Sammich will be all snazzy.

 

Leave a Reply

